EXCITING NEWS! Announcing the 2015 Winner of the WNBA Award (Women’s National Book Association) – Amy King

2015 WNBA Award

WNBA (Women's National Book Association) Award

I’m so happy to share the news that I join the ranks of Ann Patchett, Eleanor Roosevelt, Rachel Carson, Barbara Bush, Hon. Patricia Schroeder and Pearl Buck as the recipient of a Women’s National Book Association (WNBA) Award.

The WNBA has selected Amy King, poet, professor of Creative Writing at SUNY Nassau Community College and Executive Board Member of VIDA: Women in Literary Arts.

 ak bw “VIDA’s mission as a research-driven organization is to increase critical attention to contemporary women’s further transparency around gender equality issues in contemporary literary culture.”
(from VIDA’s website

The WNBA Award is presented every second year to a “living American woman who derives part or all of her income from books and allied arts, and who has done meritorious work in the world of books beyond the duties or responsibilities of her profession or occupation.”

To learn more about this award and previous winners,
please visit http://www.wnba-books.org/wnba-awards/wnbaawards.

Also, a note from VIDA’s co-founder, Cate Marvin, here – http://www.vidaweb.org/announcing-the-2015-winner-of-the-wnba-award-womens-national-book-association-vidas-amy-king/

The award will be presented at a special event June 6, 2015, as part of WNBA’s annual meeting, to be held this year in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Press Release HERE.

Winners of the WNBA Award
2012 Ann Patchett, author and bookstore owner
2010 Masha Hamilton, international journalist, author, women’s activist.
2008 Kathi Kamen Goldmark, author, musician and Rock Bottom Remainders founder
2006 Perri Klass, MD, author, promoter of literacy, President and Medical Director of Reach Out and Read, and professor of pediatrics
2004 Nancy Pearl, author, librarian, book reviewer, and radio talk show personality.
2002 Patricia McKissack, Author
2000 Hon. Patricia Schroeder, Former Congresswoman, President and CEO, Assn. of American Publishers
1998 Doris Kearns Goodwin, Historian, author
1996 Carolyn Heilbrun, Author, feminist scholar
1994 Janet Palmer Mullaney, Founder and publisher, literary journal
1992 Jessie Carney Smith, Author, librarian
1990 Barbara Bush, First Lady, literacy advocate
1988 Claire Friedland, Book production specialist
1986 Ann Heidbreder Eastman, Bookwoman
1984 Effie Lee Morris, Librarian
1982 Barbara Tuchman, Author
1980 Anne Pellowski, Librarian, author
1978 Mary Stahlman, Douglas Book reviewer
1976 Frances Neal Cheney, Educator, author; AND
Helen Honig, Meyer Publisher; AND
Barbara Ringer, Librarian
1975 Margaret K. McElderry Children’s book editor
1973 Mary Virginia Gaver Librarian, educator
1972 Ursula Nordstrom, Children’s book editor
1971 Augusta Baker, School and public librarian
1970 Charlemae Hill Rollins, Librarian, author
1969 Victoria S. Johnson, Public relations professional
1968 Ruth Hill Viguers, Librarian, author
1967 Mildred L. Batchelder, Children’s librarian
1966 Blanche W. Knopf, Publisher
1965 Virginia Mathews, School library consultant
1964 Polly Goodwin, Children’s book reviewer
1963 Rachel Carson, Author
1962 Catherine Drinker Bowen, Author
1961 Eleanor Roosevelt, Former First Lady; author
1960 Pearl Buck, Author
1959 May Hill Arbuthnot, Editor, critic; AND
Marchette Chute, Author
1958 Edith Hamilton, Author
1957 Anne J. Richter, Editor
1956 Mary Ellen Chase, Author
1955 Fanny Butcher, Book reviewer; AND
Bertha Mahoney Miller, Editor
1954 Elizabeth Gray Vining Author, teacher
1953 Lillian C. Gurney, Bookseller
1952 Margaret C. Scroggin, Young people’s librarian
1951 Dorothy Canfield Fisher, Author
1950 May Massee, Children’s book editor
1949 Lucile Micheels Pannell, Bookseller
1948 May Lamberton, Becker Book reviewer
1947 Emily P. Street, Book sales and advertising
1946 Amy Loveman, Editor
1945 Lillian Smith, Author
1944 Mildred C. Smith, Editor
1943 Mary Graham Bonner, Author
1942 Irita Van Doren, Book review editor
1941 Blair Niles, Author
1940 Anne Caroll Moore, Librarian

Amy King was honored by The Feminist Press as one of the “40 Under 40: The Future of Feminism” awardees, and she received the 2012 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities. Her most recent book from Litmus Press, I Want to Make You Safe (2011), was one of the Boston Globe’s Best Poetry Books of 2011, and it was reviewed, among others, by the Poetry Foundation and the Colorado Review. King is also the author of Slaves to do These Things, I’m the Man Who Loves You and Antidotes for an Alibi, all from Blazevox Books, as well as The People Instruments (Pavement Saw Press) and Kiss Me With the Mouth of Your Country (Dusie Press).

King serves on the executive board of VIDA: Woman in Literary Arts and is currently co-editing the anthology, Big Energy Poets of the Anthropocene: When Ecopoets Think Climate Change. She also moderates the Women’s Poetry Listserv(WOMPO) and the Goodreads Poetry! Group. She teaches English and Creative Writing at SUNY Nassau Community College.

For any inquiries, please contact:

Penny Anna Makras                         Nc Weil
Communications Chair, WNBA     WNBA Award Chair
pamakras@gmail.com                      www.wnba-books.org


AMY KING View All →

Amy King is the recipient of the 2015 Winner of the Women’s National Book Association (WNBA) Award. Her latest collection, The Missing Museum, is a winner of the 2015 Tarpaulin Sky Book Prize. She co-edited with Heidi Lynn Staples the anthology Big Energy Poets of the Anthropocene: When Ecopoets Think Climate Change. She also co-edits the anthology series, Bettering American Poetry, and is a professor of creative writing at SUNY Nassau Community College.

1 Comment Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: